For Good

There is a song from the musical Wicked called “For Good.” The lyrics are absolutely beautiful. Here’s a bit of them that I keep coming back to:

 I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you…

 Which is how I feel about this production of Corpus Christi.

I started at the beginning of April. I’m a replacement for someone who had to drop out.  I almost didn’t answer the ad on NeOhioPal (which is a listserv for artists in Northeast Ohio) because I didn’t think they would cast me because of my size (I’m WAY under 5’ tall). Ultimately, I auditioned because I had come across the play in college and its politics intrigued me too much to pass up (and quite possibly piss people off in the process).

I was wrong. On so many levels.

Each and every one of the ensemble members have taught me that I can play this part. They have graciously reminded me not to listen to outside forces when it comes to my size and to have confidence in my abilities as an actor and human being.  I am a beautiful, powerful person who deserves to be loved and accepted, not teased and bullied like I have been for the past 24 years of my life.

That is the message of this play:  accept people for who they are and love them unconditionally.  Each person is divine in his (or her) own way and has something to contribute to society.  To deny them for whatever reason– race, socioeconomic class, gender, sexual orientation– is wrong.  Most importantly: do not judge another person because that right only belongs to God himself (or herself).

You should re-read the Wicked lyrics.

We can all learn from one another. Just because someone is different than you does not make him (or her) any less than you.  Jesus himself taught to not judge others:

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.” – Matthew 7:1-5

And just so you know, other religions speak of love, not judgment:

  • Judaism: “Thou shalt Love the Lord thy God with all thy heart and thy neighbor as thyself”
  • Confucianism: “To love all men is the greatest benevolence”
  • Hinduism: “One can best worship the Lord through Love”
  • Shinto: “Love is the representative of the Lord”

(all the above quotes I found in Ram Dass’ book Be Here Now)

 Even though this play is written through a Christian lens, the heart and soul of the play is universal. And that is what Jesus’ message was– universal. It wasn’t aimed at any one group.

In fact, there is a famous Bible verse that goes, “For God so loved the world, He gave his one and only Son that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (PS that verse is John 3:16). Notice it doesn’t say only straight people. Or white. Or males. Or people over 5’. It says WHOEVER. And he implores us to follow in His footsteps and to “Love your neighbor as yourself (Mark 12:31).”

I hope when people see this play that they do not judge me or any of the ensemble members. I hope they leave their prejudices at the door, enter with an open mind and ready to learn.  I hope they grow as human beings.

And I hope that they are changed for good.

-Margaret Lute
Corpus Christi Ensemble Member

Comments

  1. Amy Spencer says:

    Margaret, you ARE powerful. And beautiful. And if you’re short, it’s because you are, in essence, highly concentrated energy: you have a lot more flavor than all the watered-down people.

Comment!

